RIP- Lou Scheimer

October 19, 2013

I read some sad news today on Cartoon Brew, that TV producer, and co-founder of Filmation studios,  Lou Scheimer has died; just two days short of turning 85. Some hated his work, others (like me) loved it. Yeah, the studio recycled run sequences, the layouts (and stories) were formulaic, but I have as many fond childhood memories of his cartoons as I do any of the best that Hanna-Barbera had to offer. Star Trek, Groovie Goolies, Batman, Flash Gordon, Tarzan, Lone Ranger, Zorro, He-Man, She-Ra, and the best Fat Albert were all thanks to him. Not to mention how many of his live action shows of his I lived for every saturday morning, from the real Ghostbusters, Ark II, Jason of Star Command, Space Academy, Isis to the amazing Shazam! 

Shazam Isis

People can criticize his studio for all the things they cut corners on, but ultimately he provided me, and multiple generations, with the inspiration to create our own works. His studio is one of biggest influences on why I became a comic artist. It was already on the plate to make a Groovie Goolies carving on the pumpkin this year, now, I’ll have reason to take a little more time, and give it just a little more love. I can only thank him, and hope he rests well.

Goolies

Comments are closed.

