Jack be nimble, Jack be quick…

February 27, 2013

I have a friend, a good friend, that fell after Thanksgiving, and has been stuck in a wheelchair since then. He turns 65 today, and her only found out this week that he can even begin to start putting weight on his legs again. Needless to say, he’s been living a sort of prison life for the past few months. Moving within the confines of a space slightly larger than most cells, this man (with a voracious appetite for information) has been forced to live on a diet of Jerry Springer, real crime TV docudramas, and reruns of NCSI. To help alleviate his boredom, and to celebrate his birthday a little, I sent him a little package. Despite conflicts with my local USPS store in the past, I HAD to do a little artwork on the outside of the thing.

I would like to point out that when I mailed this package (at a different USPS office than before) the woman behind the counter didn’t lecture me, rather she asked if I did the artwork, and then complimented me on it. I told her, “You’re much nicer than the clerks on M street.” to which she replied “Oh yea, they got a problem lot down there.” , with a giggle. I told her “You’re right, those people are evil!”, she just laughed and told me to have a nice day.

Hopefully my friend will get his package today, just prior to reading this, as not to ruin the surprise. There’s something going on here, but I can’t explain what, so just enjoy.

dvd_CLR

Jack, I hope it’s a great 65th, we miss seeing you! Especially now that it’s Lent—

It’s Fish-n-chip Fridays!

 

Leave a Reply

