Sketchy, sketchy

September 14, 2010

I’ve been doing more sketches at conventions each year, mostly due to my involvement with GI Joe. Granted most of the sketch requests have been for those characters, but there have been others. I’ve noticed some trends to what I draw when I do what I feel like, and there has been a shift to using colored paper as a mid tone. I’ve enjoyed doing these, so I thought as I crank them out, I’ll try to post the ones I had the most fun with, or that pushed me a certain direction.

The first was part of my “theme”, and is a prime example of what I’ve come to call my best “Adam Impersonation”, if you know who I mean, then you’ll automatically know why. It was early on in my use of Copics, so I was keeping it to all gray scale at this point, but as you’ll see I’ve been expanding with color as time goes on.

Real Worl Leela- Futurama

I really did this because my wife loves going to a web site that has baby zoo animals on it- for our “cute” fix of the day. They had this odd looking monkey on it once, and I thought “That looks like a real world Nibbler”- and off I went.

The rest are examples of what I mentioned earlier about the mid tone paper. These are all on gray, but I have done some on kraft paper. I haven’t decided which I like best… yet.

This was one of the first I did on gray and I was really pleased how it turned out. It was a Birthday gift for the wife of my British editor at Titan. They recently got married, and she had colored her hair bright red for the occasion, it was stunning. Ned also has a blog identity known as Punchface!!!, so I combined the two and did them as a couple on the river. For some reason, maybe the dress and the boat, I went all “Somewhere in TIme” with it.

Mr. & Mrs. Punchface!!! on the river~

From there, the flood gates opened. Mike Rhode was happy with the Leela sketch, but specifically asked for one of the Shadow, so I cranked this out for him.

What evil lurks in the hearts of men?

Then of course I had to draw something for Richard Thompson (Cul De Sac), but he’s not a big super hero fan, but he IS a big Ronald Searle fan, creator of the St. Trinian’s School for Girls.

Ronald Searle's original bad girls

So I decided to give this particular girl the “real world” treatment.

Can I stay after class too?

Lastly, Derick Cantrell asked me to do a “slave Leia” sketch for him, as he collects those from various artists. He had shown me one that Terry Moore did for him…

Terry Moore dresses up Katchoo and the Gang

I thought that was brilliant. I couldn’t respond to that by just drawing a simple slave Leia, so I made it the Baroness from GI Joe AS slave Leia. With a few MAD sight gags thrown in…

Co-BRAAaaaa!

Well, I’m sure there will be more to follow, but that’s all for now.

One Response to “Sketchy, sketchy”

  1. Joanie said

    Wow! These are probably my favorite pieces of yours! Especially The Shadow and the boat scene!

Leave a Reply

