Duke pt2

March 18, 2009

So here are the final pencils for the previous post. The process skipped a bit and went from my hands to the colorist. Normally on a book, the stage after my pencils would be inks. For those who don’t know, that’s when another artist (and I do mean artist) comes in and goes over my pencil lines with ink. This helps the art reproduce properly by cleaning up the images with smooth lines and strong contrast for the printer’s cameras. Usually the inker will also embellish the page a bit by adding more textures and any details I may have forgotten. A good inker is worth his salt, but sadly because of time and/or money a lot of publishers have been forced to push this practice to the side. I pencil pretty tight, so we can simply scan my work, bump up the contrast in the computer, and allow the colorists to do their magic. Below are the pages in the final pencil stage and then what they look like with color and balloons attached.  Enjoy!

 

gij_duke_iss01_p08

Now the color version of this page.

gij_duke_iss01_p08_clr

gij_duke_iss01_p15Here’s the color version.

ayout 1

2 Responses to “Duke pt2”

  1. Josh said

    Hey Shan, thanks for the new stuff. I do love to see your process.

    Serious question. With most (all?) coloring being done on computers these days, is it possible that you’ll start to have a sort of inker/colorist hybrid using brush tools in photoshop or what have you?

  2. slgallant said

    Some already do. When I had a Cintiq at my old job (which friggin rock!) I got very comfortable inking in the computer, and coloring was a breeze. Although coloring is still easy on my tablet, inking is a chore. If I ever have an extra $3K laying around, I’ll definitely buy one. I know others are really proficient at using the computer that way, and I’m not against it the look of it. It’s a time factor more than anything that prevents it. You still physically have to take time to make the marks, paper or not. The time saving really does come from all the little stuff that adds up. Not having to physically change pens, dip quills, clean brushes, scan finished pages because they’re already in the computer, etc… but you still have to make the marks and that still requires time.

Leave a Reply

