Final art

February 3, 2009

Here is the final art for this page, so now you can see how I’ve taken the script, designed the thumbnail, and finally the finished pencils. There were some small tweaks along the way, and not everything is perfect.  I try not to go back and look thru pages with an overly picky eye. All a person can do is their best effort given all the restrictions and obligations on any particular day. I can’t tell you what happened that day, my arm might have been sore, I might have had a headache, or maybe it was the best I’d felt in years- really doesn’t matter. The point is I had a page to do that day, and this is what I got done. Some artists will slave over something for days- that’s not how I work. I try to do quality work in a limited timeframe, there will always be someone who thinks it stinks, and others who love it. Enjoy.

mack_bolan_iss01_pg03_v01

One Response to “Final art”

  1. richard said

    Shannon,

    Nice job. I really appreciated your thoughts about your process.
    I too feel the wind leave my sails after the thumbnail draft. And, I have been known to spend too long on a given page, at the expense of the deadline or my sleep. I habit that took me a while to break. Set a time limit and draw the hell out of the page and MOVE ON!

    Thanks also for sharing you thoughts about HOW you solved the problem of having the guys head in the from while the action is shown next to him.

    Take it easy and good luck on all of your work!

Leave a Reply

